About me

My name is Jessica Molinaro. I have a J.D., a BA in Political Science, and, like many of my contemporaries, no job prospects. So I’ve decided to use my specialized skills and knowledge I’ve gained from personal experience to create a job for myself.

I’ve been blogging since 2002, and part of Twitter’s “social media” scene since 2007. In 2008, I was ranked #2 on a list of the Top 100 Law School Twitter Users to follow.

I have a colorful employment history. I’ve worked in retail selling school uniforms; been an academic adviser at a community college as well as my alma mater, the University of Tennessee; and acted as a research assistant for two law professors. I also interned with the Tennessee General Assembly in 2007, which was one of the highlights of my college career—and only partially because I got to ride the Zamboni at a Nashville Predators game.

Throughout school and my jobs, I’ve blogged and tweeted my thoughts about my life, current events, and interests and hobbies—building up an entirely different set of skills through trial-and-error as I needed them. I taught myself basic HTML and enough CSS to manipulate my blog layouts, and learned Photoshop so I could create custom headers and avatars for my blogs and websites. I learned about design aesthetic, how to specialize my writing for a blog format, and how to organize posts into categories and tag them.

My “professional” experience intersected with my personal experience in 2010, when I was hired by the Adams Law Firm in Knoxville, Tennessee to manage their blogs. On these blogs, which cover areas of law such as Personal Injury, Workers’ Compensation, Real Estate, Construction Law, and Business Law, I edit, post, and tag news articles and case opinions relating to each specific area of law. In 2011, I was asked to create a blog for one of the firm’s clients, which I started from scratch here on WordPress. I work one-on-one with the client and teach him blogging etiquette and strategies while editing and posting content relating to drug rehabilitation, including news stories and posts the client has written himself.

I intend to use this blog as a place to track the integration of social media and marketing strategies and to market my own skills as a manager of social media to businesses, particularly those in the legal profession, who want to use tools like Twitter, WordPress, and Facebook but don’t have the time or the knowledge to do so effectively. Feel free to contact me through the blog or e-mail me for more information.

Leave a comment